World March New Zealand
World March 5 Proposals

Welcome by M. Ban Ki Moon
Countries and territories on
the World Peace March route

Oceania and East Asia

Australia, Japan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Philippines.

Continental Asia

Bangladesh, China, India, Israel, Mongolia, Nepal, North Korea, Pakistan, Russian Federation, South Korea, Palestine, Turkey.


Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom.


Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Kenya, Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Senegal, Togo.


Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, United States, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Dominican Republic, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela.


The World Peace March
is supported by

Tourisim Auckland

Positively Wellington Tourisim

Fuse Creative

Website designed by Fuse Creative
New Zealand Travel – Plan your New Zealand travel at the official site of Tourism New Zealand.
Abolition 2000

Abolition 2000 is a network of over 2000 organizations in more than 90 countries world wide working for a global treaty to eliminate nuclear weapons.


Fleur Adcock

Ray Ahipene-Mercer
(Wellington City Councillor)

Denny Anker
(Restorative justice volunteer)

Graeme Allwright

Jim Anderton MP
(Leader, Progressive Party)

Jacinda Ardern MP
(President of Socialist Youth International)

Dr Edric Baker

The Very Reverend
Peter Beck
(Anglican Dean of Christchurch)

Teresa Bergman
(NZ Idol finalist)

Grant Bridger
(Singer/songwriter )

Paul Bruce
(Wellington Regional Councillor)

Wilson Chun Hei Chau
(Students for a Nuclear Weapons Free World)

Helen Clark
(Head of UN Development Program)

Kevin Clements
(Director - NZ Institute for Peace and Conflict Studies)

Glenn Colquhoun

Joy Cowley

Archbishop John Dew
and the Archdiocese
of Wellington
(Catholic Church)

Dr Kate Dewes
(Member of the UN Secretary-General’s Advisory Board on Disarmament)

Peter Elliot

Riemke Ensing

The Hon Phil Goff MP
(Leader of the Opposition)

Commander Robert Green
(Royal Navy retired)

Rev Dr Dame Phyllis Guthardt

Marion Hancock
(The Peace Foundation)

Dame Kate Harcourt
(Actor, broadcaster)

Sir Michael Hardie-Boys
(NZ's 17th Governor General)

Bob Harvey
(Mayor of Waitakere)

Eric Heath

Witi Ihimaera

Rae Julian
(International Development Consultant)

Nikki Kaye
(National MP for Auckland Central)

Tayyaba Khan
(Founder of the Young Muslim
Women's Association)

Dame Fiona Kidman



Mark Laurent
(Musician, writer, poet)

Lucy Lawless

Margaret Lawlor-Bartlett

Maire Leadbeater
(Disarmament Campaigner)

Brenda Liddiard
(Musician, artist)

Keith Locke MP
(Green Party Spokesperson
on Foreign Affairs)

Dr Ngatata Love
(Director of NZ Post,
Chair Wellington Tenths Trust)

Margaret Mahy

Bishop Victoria Matthews
(Anglican Bishop of Christchurch)

Rev Margaret Mayman

Mary McCallum

Moana Maniapoto
(international award winning singer-songwriter)

The Very Reverend Frank Nelson
(Dean of St Paul's Wellington Cathedral)

Richard Northey
(Auckland City Council)

Professor Vincent O'Sullivan

Iona Pannett
(Councillor, Wellington City)

Kerry Prendergast
(Mayor of Wellington)

Wickham Pack

Bishop Richard Randerson
(Anglican Church)

Sir Paul Reeves
(former Governor-General and former Archbishop of New Zealand)

Helene Ritchie
(Councillor, Wellington City)

Ross Robertson
(Chair of Parliamentarians for Global Action)

Matt Robson
(Barrister, former Minister for Disarmament and Minister for Overseas Development Aid)

Jenny Rowan
(Mayor of Kapiti)

Dame Laurie Salas

Ra Savage
(Visual Artist)

Caitlin Smith
(Jazz Singer)

Maui Solomon

Pauline Tangiora
(Rongomaiwahine. World Future Council, Earth Charter Commission)

The Topp Twins
(Singers and comedians)

Sir Jon Trimmer
(Member of the Royal NZ Ballet)

Phil Twyford MP
(Chair Parliamentarians for Nuclear Disarmament, NZ Section)

Celia Wade-Brown
(Wellington City Councillor)

Professor Marilyn Waring

Alyn Ware
(Vice-President of International Peace Bureau)

Ans Westra

Professor Witi Ihimaera-Smiler

Lynn Walters

Shagufta Zia


Amnesty International NZ


ANEW (Leadership to stimulate community and national renewal)

Aotearoa Lawyers for Peace

Auckland Coalition for the Safety of Women and Children

ChangeMakers Refugee Forum

Christian World Service

Conflict Partnership Service of Aotearoa

Council for International Development

Development Resource Centre

Disarmament and Security Centre

Dunedin Quaker Meeting

The Dominican Sisters of Aotearoa New Zealand

Fragile World

Good Company Pacific

Greenpeace NZ

Humanity's Team New Zealand

Kati Huirapa Runaka ki Puketeraki

Latin America Solidarity Committee

Living Streets Aotearoa

Museum of Wellington City and Sea

National Consultative Committee on Disarmament

Network Waitangi Otautahi

NZ Council of Trade Unions

Operation Peace Through Unity

One people one planet

Opshop (Rock band)

Oxfam New Zealand

Pacific Institute for Resource Management

The Peace Foundation

Presbyterian Church of New Zealand Aotearoa

Quaker Peace and Service Aotearoa New Zealand

Soka Gokkai International (New Zealand)

United Nations Association of NZ

UNICEF New Zealand


Week of Prayer for World Peace NZ Committee

WEAV (Wellington Ending Abuse and Violence)

Wellington Interfaith Council

Te Puia - Maori Arts and Crafts Institute

Te Runanga A Iwi o Ngapuhi

Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu

The Federation of Islamic Associations of NZ

The NZ Indian Central Association

The Wellington Branch of the Labour Party 

The Wellington Catholic Archdiocese

The Wellington Regional Jewish Council

Tupoho Whanau Trust

Trade Aid New Zealand

Yoga in Daily Life Association

Yugo Sport and Art Association

Youth Law Tino Rangatiratanga Taitamariki

YWCA Wanganui

Nuclear Free Nation

Aotearoa – New Zealand
A Nuclear free pioneer for peace.

Bob Harvey

Video 10th World Summit
of Nobel Peace
NZ Supporters
  • Rt Hon Helen Clark

    Rt Hon Helen Clark, Head of the United Nations Development Programme. Former Prime Minister of New Zealand

  • Dr Kate Dewes

    Dr Kate Dewes. Member of the United Nations Secretary-General's Advisory Board on Disarmament

  • Kerry Prendergast

    Kerry Prendergast. Mayor of Wellington. Mayor for Peace

  • Maui Solomon

    Maui Solomon. Representative of Moriori from Rekohu (Chatham Islands)

  • Moana Maniapoto

    Moana Maniapoto. Singer/songwriter. Winner of the Grand Jury Prize - International Songwriting Competition

  • Sir Paul Reeves

    Sir Paul Reeves. Former Governor General. Former Arch-Bishop of Aotearoa-New Zealand.

  • Pauline Tangiora

    Pauline Tangiora, Maori elder from the Rongomaiwahine (Women of Peace) Iwi. Member of the World Futures Council

  • Hon Phil Goff

    Hon Phil Goff. Leader of the Opposition

  • Teresa Bergman

    Teresa Bergman. NZ Idol Finalist

Press Releases News

Massive Final Act of the World March for Peace and Nonviolence

After traveling 200 thousand kilometers, the international team of the World March arrived today, January 2, at the Park of Study and Reflection Punta de Vacas in Argentina. Close to 20,000 people heard the representatives of the World March from Chile, Argentina, India, Italy, the Philippines, Spain and England that circled the globe calling for nuclear disarmament.

More News

Did You Know?
Fun facts about New Zealand

The Longest place name in the world is in New Zealand?

Find out more...
World Peace March 2009 - 2010